Porsche 718 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 142 Posts

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am looking for some advice from people who have driven/owned a GTS.

I am completely new to the Porsche world and find myself in a fortunate position where I am looking to purchase a GTS. I am slightly torn between the 2.5 gts and the 4.0 gts based off some reviews I have seen online.

I know the benefits of the 4.0 are the sound, residual values and power delivery (from some reviews I have watched and read), however the 2.5 gts seems to represent good value and looks like performance wise there isn't much difference.

As I haven't owned a particularly fast car (currently have a mk 7 golf GTI), I know that a GTS will be a significant upgrade on anything I have previously driven. I mostly drive on the weekends and do the odd trip during the week when I am not in the office, however I am looking for something that will put a smile on my face every time I drive it.

Will be good to understand from you guys about the sound of the 2.5 GTS as I have heard mixed reviews on this and if I would notice any difference on a day to day basis, barring in mind I haven't really owned/driven a performance car previously.

Any thoughts and discussion would be greatly appreciated :D

Thanks guys!

· Registered
1,780 Posts
There is so much discussion here about that. Please do a search for what has been written already. There's a thread with almost the exact same name as yours that is still current.

Can the moderators close this thread up since it's already been discussed three zillion times already?

· Registered
2018, GTS, PDK
1,379 Posts
Good afternoon.
Loads all over this forum on this exact question and you will get replies both camps advising which is then best tbh.
Please do ignore the sound issue btw, both are loud just in a different way.