Porsche 718 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
2021 Boxster GTS 4.0
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I’m new to 718 Forum. Had a 2017 Boxster, 2019 911S Cab, 2020 Macan S, now, since March a 2021 Boxster GTS 4.0. Awesome car. Most enjoyable of my Porsches! BUT….!!!…I’m troubled by a “tinny, metallic, tapping sound” on engine start up (really noticeable), subsides quite a bit at normal idle but STILL there! I notice it when driving, too, at low speeds, before loud normal exhaust sound drowns it out. Particularly noticeable echoing off building, shrubbery hedges etc., at lower speed. Porsche dealer unsure if it’s normal and has no exact same car to compare it to. Absolutely zero 2021 Boxster GTS 4.0 in Massachusetts area dealers!
Has anyone noticed this odd & troubling “tinny, metallic, tap..tap..tap.. sound” in.GTS 4.0? I told dealer I could not imagine Porsche designers would let this be an acceptable engine noise in a new model, produced especially to bring back the ”throaty, guttural” old school sound of a naturally aspirated Porsche engine?.. Please let me know if anyone has experienced it…or…NOT…which is what I suspect. Thanks.

·
Registered
334 Posts
I asked this same question a couple wks ago! I even made a sound recording and sent it to my SA. He made a similar recording with a car in the service bay to prove it's normal. It's coming from the direct injection. It sucks 'cause it sounds like something's wrong with it.

·
Registered
Porsche 991.2 Carrera 4S Cabriolet
11 Posts
Sorry to hear that, but if it is normal, so be it. Different things take a little while to get used to. I see your in MA, same here, but up in Sudbury. Just placed an order for a 718 Spyder yesterday, so hoping the DI sound is not too bothersome, but suspect it sounds similar to my last Alfa Giulia Quadrifoglio.

·
Registered
2021 Boxster GTS 4.0
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·