Porsche 718 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did my 40k Mile service at the 39k mile mark in late Feb. A friend recommended I do a blackstone-labs oil analysis when I do my oil changes as I track the car regularly and plan to keep it long term. This oil sample was only 4 months old but had 9k miles and 14 track days due to a crazy late season where I did all those track days in 6 weeks and made some big road trips. Pretty happy overall with how everything has held up.

Planning to keep doing these as $30 is a small amount to pay for peace of mind as the car gets older or goes out of warranty. Wondering what others' experiences are with tracking the condition of their engine through oil analysis.

Attachments

·
Registered
453 Posts
For a tracked car these are invaluable, I've been doing it for many years now.
The whole point is to monitor over a number of samples to establish a baseline trend.
Deviations over time are what matters.

Oil testing saved me an engine on a previous car.
Lead values were fairly steady over time (years) and then the lead numbers spiked from 4ppm (average) to 28ppm.
I decided to do a bottom end tear down and sure enough rod bearings were done.

·
Registered
290 Posts