Porsche 718 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, he love/hates it. He told me last week he'd be fine if we took it back to the dealership.

What's the problem, you ask? Well this is his first manual transmission car. It's a 2017 718 Boxster S (red) and he hates driving it. It's our weekend car, or our it's sunny and we're going out to lunch on a Tuesday car and he can't get the hang of driving it. I've been driving a manual on and off for 26 years.

He finally mastered starting in first without stalling, but he can't do everything required all at once without getting stressed. If he has to downshift, or stop at a traffic light, or if a car nearby does something unexpected, he panics.

I've been super kind about it, not even a little shrill. Honestly. We've had the car since October and his dad was here for a week in December and took him out every day and I thought he was ready.

Part of the problem is that he's unaccustomed to paying attention while driving because his daily driver is a highly visible SUV with auto transmission and he's a millenial, so if his phone goes off, he gets antsy and checks it.

We're not taking the effing thing back and we're going to have it forever, so what do I do?

·
Super Moderator
1,777 Posts
1. Let him know that learning any new skill requires that you suck at it in the beginning.
2. Encourage him to drive by himself and when it's not busy so the pressure during learning is reduced.
3. Put the phone in the boot. No matter what car he's driving, checking a 'phone can be fatal. Have him watch some YTube videos to see what happens. SUVs roll over and over and over really easily. He might miss a message or a call but that's way better than missing the rest of his life.
4. Take him back to the dealer and get a refund. 😁

·
Registered
474 Posts
Wait until he gets the bill to replace the clutch. Then he’ll REALLY hate the car.

Solution : 2 sports car family.