Porsche 718 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 86 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's been 2 weeks since I picked up my brand new base 718 cayman with manual transmission. I'm still scared stop and go...

I've been driving manual transmission for 10 years, all of the car were low power natural engine (no turbo).
I usually connect clutch around 2000rpm, then car start moving slowly. No issue at all.

However, when I do same thing in my 718 cayman, car start very fast since 2000rpm is maximum torque!! I'm so scared.
I also tried to connect clutch around 1000rpm, then engine stops very easily.
Best thing might be connecting clutch around 1500rpm. But, this is not easy though I'm trying to press pedal slowly...

I bought cayman for my daily car. I need to overcome my issue.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
387 Posts
Sorry. Maybe the whisky is making lol at this post. But really. It’s the same as most other MT I’ve ever driven. I don’t even look at the rpm. Are you really scared?

Just go to an empty parking lot till you are good to go.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sorry. Maybe the whisky is making lol at this post. But really. It’s the same as most other MT I’ve ever driven. I don’t even look at the rpm. Are you really scared?

Just go to an empty parking lot till you are good to go.
Thank you for your reply. I'm scared especially in the high traffic. I feel pressure from other car... I'm scared power boost around 2000rpm by turbo. This is my first German car. I feel shift 1 is close to shift 2 in my Subaru BRZ. Yes, I must practice at empty parking lot.

·
Super Moderator
2,455 Posts
Another recommendation is in traffic don't be in sport mode. The car idles higher and is slightly more difficult to get going gently.