Porsche 718 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Over the Xmas break, I was playing around with my PCM (Cayman S 2017) - I selected the UK maps update from the Online Updates.

After the update, my GoogleMaps fails to load, I've carried out a hard reset and also a custom hand-over reset which wipes the PCM. Google maps still fails to load.

I do have other online services on my PCM. I know I can use CarPlay to gain access to similar maps, but I did like the in-built maps option!

Anyone had a similar issue or any advice? I was going to call my local Porsche garage to see if this covered under Porsche connect - which I have a years subscription for.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Not to do anything with update.

Google maps stopped for VW brands on 31.12.2020.
VW and Google agreement expired.
Audi has gotten the firmware updates to switch to HERE brand.
For Porsche we still await good news.
If it comes to Porsche,I will do shootout on the forums.

·
Registered
833 Posts
But if you have Nav you still have built-in maps, right? Is there somewhere I can read more about this? I would think that if Porsche was going to take away a feature we're paying for they would at least tell us.

·
Registered
833 Posts
Here's a good post with some details, apparently we might have some sort of an update in a few months.

They should comp us those months. Generally speaking I haven't used that feature - the built in regular maps still work, right? It's more of a problem for folks with that big wide screen in the Macan and whatnot because I guess CarPlay looks odd on that screen.

I have Nav for a backup if I'm in an area with no signal - something that happens when you go for a drive in the hills sometimes. But if I'm in an area with coverage I usually use Waze, especially now that it supports the cool CarPlay multi-screen thing.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Not to do anything with update.